Comments and Ratings: links at end of page


Colt 45 beer review

by Seamus Vaughan
(Beer Delegate, ON, Canada)

Colt 45 beer: review it at your peril

Colt 45 beer: review it at your peril

Colt 45 beer review

So for my first review, I will start where it all began, Colt 45. Whether in a can or a bottle, this beer has a distinct taste you won't soon forget. It has the aroma of gasoline and the taste of a tinny sack of quarters.

When drinking the cans during your Colt 45 beer review, you may notice that one in twelve tastes like paint thinner. I never quite figured out if that would be considered a bonus?

Technically, it's not a beer, its a malt liqour, because of its higher alcohol content, 8%. That 8% goes a long way. It even says "It works every time" on the label, and trust me, Colt 45 never lies.

It kicks like the horse in the picture. Drink three and good luck remembering what the back of your hand looks like.

BUT it gives you the strength (and gas) of ten men, increased stamina and a strange hyperactivity, which really makes you wonder if it's really beer at all.

Maybe it's really superjuice! Or POISON!

However, if you live through your Colt 45 experience, you will learn to respect the drink. At 5$ a bottle, which will roughly fill two and a half pint glasses, it's easily worth five pints (because of the alcohol content).

For my next article... the effervescent Lysol and Crest megamix! Don't try this at home... ed.

Comments for Colt 45 beer review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 28, 2014
shot by the guns dave NEW
by: dave the rave

i have been drinking colt since college--still enjoy the taste--dont feel bad the next day--try mixing half and half --colt and coors reg--smooth

Aug 02, 2013
Good in a hot tub NEW
by: Fred

A good soak in a hot tub with a couple of pints of this stuff is great. Don't listen to the whiners - try it yourself and see.

May 05, 2012
little beer NEW
by: paul loveridge

you have good beer can you send me a t shirt im a big fan of yours 103 550 8th st newwestminister bc v3m 3r9

Dec 14, 2011
Bang for the buck. NEW
by: Dane

Just had a Canadian Colt 45 (more alcohol lol :D) and wow do I feel gangsta.

Mar 05, 2011
Love the bouquet
by: Anonymous

Paint thinner or gasoline or nitroglycrine is more like it!!!!! Don't care its still the best on my income. Cheers!!!! Rest in peace!! G&J buddies.

Nov 17, 2010
Foul
by: OEP

As a fellow Brit I would just like to distance myself from the comment made by Alanpl1.

Colt.45 was and is the sole domain of piss-soaked tramps who live in hedges and rage incoherently at passers by, both real and imagined.

This is NOT beer, it is effluent.

Oct 12, 2010
great great great
by: AlanPl1

I drank about 5 million cans of this in the early to late 70s only possibly bettered by holsten pils & budvar (not that budweiser piss) wish it was still available here in the uk

May 18, 2010
HAHAH
by: Anonymous

Great Review!!!!
Now Try Mickey's and do a comparison.
Oh the memories of Malt beer (From my high school days)
Personal beer Favorite beers
Jever amd Dortmunder Ritter and cant forget Berliner Weisse

Mar 28, 2010
BULL SH*T!! YOUR NOT A BEER DRINKER!
by: Hard Tymes

If you think that much of Malt Liquor, even Colt 45.....your really not much of a beer drinker. Keep guzzling those watered down beers.....
I'll bet a case of Colt 45 you got a gripe about room temp beer as well!
HardTymes.com

Hard Tymes

Mar 28, 2010
BULL SH*T!! YOUR NOT A BEER DRINKER!
by: Hard Tymes

If you think that much of Malt Liquor, even Colt 45.....your really not much of a beer drinker. Keep guzzling those watered down beers.....
I'll bet a case of Colt 45 you got a gripe about room temp beer as well!
HardTymes.com

Hard Tymes

Mar 20, 2010
Good review
by: Anonymous

Tried my first bottle today.......paint thinner is right.
Nasty stuff but um ........what was I doing again?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Beer Ratings.


  Buy Beer Online @ eBay!
    Even the impossible can be found on eBay, if you are patient in your searching. Try searching for Russian River (you'll need to narrow down by beer name, ex. Pliny, Damnation, Temptation), Black Albert , or any of the BIG beers. Don't overlook eBay's Belgium Beer results either...

Search eBay Here
  How To Make Beer
 
    From first steps to advanced techniques, the UNOB Home Brew Delegates show you how to make beer at home
  Beer of the Month Club
 
Beer of the Month Club: a great deal! FREE shipping

Have YOU joined the Beer of the Month Club? It's a great deal!